Penn&Teller

I lost interest in some of the people I admired at the age of 14 and 15. I even find some of the people I liked quite shallow and not worthy of admiration anymore. But one of the few people who got my interest throughout these years are Penn & Teller. They wrote and hosted one of the first skeptical shows I have ever seen, “BULLSHIT!“. I thought at first that it was a pure Magic show “silly 15years old me”. It was one of the few shows that combined everything I loved and admired: Magic, Skepticism and naked breasts!

Penn Jillette, the bigger, louder half is a high school dropout, a juggler, an author, a Free Market Capitalist, a Libertarian and a loudmouth skeptic. The second half of the duo is the silent devil, Teller. He was a Latin high school teacher before he drop out of his job to become a full time magician. He is a genius, an author, an eloquent conversationalist, and a Magic philosopher.

I have known them through Magic. I was particularly impressed by their version of the Bullet Catch trick and the Shadows trick. The former is a notorious trick that has killed many magicians throughout the history of said Art. And the latter is one of the most beautiful pieces of magic I have ever seen. But then Magic isn’t the only thing that makes these guys special. As a matter of a fact Penn & Teller are not just ordinary magicians who wear stupid costumes and perform frivolous tricks. No. They are more than that. They are thinkers, intellectuals, philosophers and professional assholes!  And these two portraits are a tribute to these two living legends of Magic and Skepticism.

Penn jilette

TelleFinal

Leave a comment